Section menu

About us

The international motor civil liability insurance system (known as the "Green Card System")  has been operating since 1951. Its key objective is to settle claims initiated by victims of traffic accidents involving foreign drivers under the national law of the country of the accident.

The Green Card national bureaus are members of the unified organization, The Council of Bureaux, with its headquarters in Brussels. The Council is functioning under the aegis of the Motor Transport Work Group of the Internal Transport Committee of The Economic Commission for Europe of the United Nations.

The Green Card system comprises 48 countries: Russia, all the European countries, Israel, Morocco, Tunisia, Turkey, Iran and Azerbaijan. You can consult with a full list of member states here

In accordance with the resolution of the General Assembly of the Council of Green Card Bureaux of May 29, 2008 Russia has joined the Green Card system from January 1, 2009. By the resolution of the General Assembly of the Council of Bureaux RAMI was accepted as a Full Member of the Green Card system as of July 1, 2015.The functions of the Russian Green Card Bureau are imposed on the Russian Association of Motor Insurers.

The legal and regulatory documents specifying basic principles of the Green Card system:

Please be informed that due to a politically volatile environment, there are some validity limitations of the Green Card (where it does not cover the whole official territory of a country).

The Green Card does not cover territories of:

Republic of Azerbaijan (AZ)

Nagorno-Karabakh and seven districts surrounding it:

1) Lachyn
2) Kalbajar
3) Aghdam
4) Fuzuli
5) Jabrayil
6) Gubadly
7) Zangilan

Republic of Cyprus (CY)
Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus
Republic of Serbia (SRB)
Kosovo and Metohija, the southern Province of the Republic of Serbia