Section menu

About us

The international motor civil liability insurance system (known as the "Green Card System")  has been operating since 1951. Its key objective is to settle claims initiated by victims of traffic accidents involving foreign drivers under the national law of the country of the accident.

The Green Card national bureaus are members of the unified organization, The Council of Bureaux, with its headquarters in Brussels. The Council is functioning under the aegis of the Motor Transport Work Group of the Internal Transport Committee of The Economic Commission for Europe of the United Nations.

The Green Card system comprises 48 countries: Russia, all the European countries, Israel, Morocco, Tunisia, Turkey, Iran and Azerbaijan. You can consult with a full list of member states here

In accordance with the resolution of the General Assembly of the Council of Green Card Bureaux of May 29, 2008 Russia has joined the Green Card system from January 1, 2009. By the resolution of the General Assembly of the Council of Bureaux RAMI was accepted as a Full Member of the Green Card system as of July 1, 2015.The functions of the Russian Green Card Bureau are imposed on the Russian Association of Motor Insurers.

The legal and regulatory documents specifying basic principles of the Green Card system:

Please be informed that due to a politically volatile environment, there are some validity limitations of the Green Card (where it does not cover the whole official territory of a country).

The Green Card does not cover territories of:

Republic of Azerbaijan (AZ)

Nagorno-Karabakh and seven districts surrounding it:

1) Lachyn
2) Kalbajar
3) Aghdam
4) Fuzuli
5) Jabrayil
6) Gubadly
7) Zangilan

Republic of Cyprus (CY)
Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus
Republic of Serbia (SRB)
Kosovo and Metohija, the southern Province of the Republic of Serbia

In accordance with the resolution of the Council of Green Card Bureaux as of July 1st 2020 national Bureaus are allowed on a voluntary basis to issue the Green Cards in black on white and allow the interested insurance markets to send PDF files with Green Cards directly and electronically by e-mail or any other facility to their policyholder. As a part of the decision, policyholders should print their Green Card in black on white themselves and carry it at all times when travelling.
At the same time, insurance markets wishing to keep the issuing of the Green Cards on green ground-colour will not be hindered in doing so. Please be informed that Russian Green Card Bureau continues to issue Green Cards on green paper only.

List of the countries which introduce Green Cards printed in black on white:

Country Name White Card
Start Date
Green Card
End Date
 Austria 01.07.2020
 Belgium 01.07.2020 31.12.2021  
 Bosnia and Herzegovina 01.07.2020        
 Croatia 01.07.2020      
 Czech Republic 01.07.2020 30.06.2022   
 Denmark 01.07.2020        
 Estonia 01.07.2020 01.07.2020 
 Finland 01.07.2020      
 Germany 01.07.2020 31.12.2020    
 Greece 06.07.2020      31.12.2020 
 Hungary 24.07.2020      30.09.2020 
 Iceland 01.07.2020    
 Ireland 01.07.2020   30.06.2021
01.07.2020  30.06.2022  
 Latvia 01.07.2020 30.06.2022
 Lithuania  01.07.2020 01.07.2020
 Luxembourg 01.11.2020 01.01.2021
 Malta  01.07.2020 01.07.2020
 Portugal 31.12.2020 31.12.2020
 Poland 01.07.2021 30.06.2022
 Romania 01.07.2020 31.12.2021   
 Slovak Republic 01.07.2020
 Slovenia 01.07.2020 31.12.2021
 Spain         31.03.2021
 Switzerland 01.07.2020    
 United Kingdom 01.07.2020 01.07.2022